UNITY — Points leader David Folsom I prevailed in a close finish, highlighting a thrilling 35-lap Late Model feature Saturday night at Unity Raceway.

Starting fourth, Folsom of Skowhegan, worked his way past his two closest championship rivals — Jeff Burgess of East Madison and Dylan Turner of Freedom — to take the lead midway through the race. Battling a deflating right tire, Folsom managed to hold off a hard-charging Will Collins of Waldoboro in the closing laps.

Folsom and Collins were followed across the line by Burgess, Justin Drake of Burnham and Turner.

Multi-time Keystone Automotive Wildcat division champion Carl McAlpine of Burnham won the 20-lap feature event. McAlpine finished ahead of Skowhegan’s Kris Matchett, Maurice Young of Chelsea and reigning division champion Chris King of Burnham.

Steve Rackliff of Starks returned to action in the Late Model Pro Four division and held off Tim Robinson’s bid for consecutive victories. Sean Johnson of Sidney earned second and took over the points lead. While Bill Ellis of Parkman was third.

Points leader Zach Audet of New Sharon won heat and feature event victories in the Monster Mini Stock class. John Fortin of Vassalbor was second followed by Chelsea’s Mike Wilson and Augusta’ Greg Cummings.


Norridgewock’s Ryan Ripley race to victory in the Flyin’ 4 division, outrunning Clinton’s Cole Robinson. Richmond’s Mike Dulaney was third.

Austin Clemons of Norridgewock won the Teen Thunder feature race while Detroit’s Ricky Pease was second and Burnham’s Emily McAlpine third.

Other winners were Chad Folsom in the six-cylinder Challenger division and Shadow Folsom in the four-cylinder enduro race.

The Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association made a guest appearance on the Champion’s Night card with Mike Millette of Brewer, Mike Willette of Winslow and Shawn Racilla of Dover-Foxcroft points feature race victories.

American-Canadian Tour

SCARBOROUGH — Farmington’s Jeff Taylor claimed his first career ACT win after a long battle with Wayne Helliwell, Jr., in the Beech Ridge 150 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway on Saturday.

Taylor and Helliwell, both in Fords, swapped the lead seven times from lap 44 to the checkers.

Randy Potter was third while Jeffery Labrecque and Austin Theriault rounded out the top five.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.