AUGUSTA — The Bicycle Coalition of Maine’s board of directors recently presented awards to the following individuals for their work to improve bicycling in Maine:

* Dan Ostrye, chairman of the Yarmouth Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee.

* Dave Richard, founder of the Central Maine Cycling Club in Vassalboro.

* Maryalice Walker, founder and former coordinator of the Nasson Community Bicycle Center in Sanford.

* John Andrews of Saco, founding president of the Eastern Trail Alliance.

* Mary Breen, owner of Bread and Roses Bakery in Ogunquit.

* Brian Alexander, founder and president of the Central Maine chapter of the New England Mountain Bike Association.

* Deborah Emery, principal of the Henry L. Cottrell School in Monmouth.

The Bicycle Coalition of Maine has been working since 1992 to make Maine a better place to bicycle. The coalition advocates for Maine cyclists at the Legislature and in Washington, D.C., teaches bicycle safety to thousands of Maine schoolchildren each year, partners with state agencies on a share the road media campaign and serves as a resource on local bicycling issues.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.