OAKLAND — Nickolas Ferguson of Sidney, a senior at Messalonskee High School, was recently selected to receive the 2012 Principal’s Award. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Ferguson, Messalonskee Principal Jon Moody, and other award winners and their principals, will attend an honors luncheon at 1 p.m. Saturday, April 7, at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor.

The luncheon recognizes the winners with a individual plaque. Five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler, former Maine principals and executive directors of the association, will be awarded.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association that represents Maine’s school administrators.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.