AUGUSTA — The University of Maine in Augusta recently held its annual Student Awards Ceremony in Jewett Hall Auditorium. The event honored student achievements in academic scholarship, service, leadership, and athletics.

Awards and scholarships

Lloyd J. Jewett Jr. Scholarship: Melanie Redd of Hallowell.

Augusta Kiwanis Club Janet A. White Scholarship: Joshua Lawrence of Augusta.

UMA Foundation 100 Club Scholarship: Christina Epley of Augusta.

Distinguished Nursing Student Award: Melissa Guilfoyle of Windsor.

Student Nurses Association Leadership Award: Kellie Foye of Sidney.

Distinguished BSN Student Awards: Patricia Day of Augusta and Bobbie McCarthy of Rome.

Cony High School Scholarship: Jennifer Smith of Augusta.

Richard J. and Mary Elisabeth Randall Scholarship Fund: Christine McCormick of Whitefield.

Distinguished English Major Award: John McLauglin of Manchester.

Francis T. and Catherine B. Finnegan Scholarships: Frederick Fruehan of Union and Tessa Hayes of Vassalboro.

Student Civic Engagement Award: Sarah Therrien of Augusta.

American Institute of Architects Maine Chapter Scholarship: Justin Morgan of South China.

Distinguished Computer Information Systems Student Award: David Redmond of Manchester.

Kenneth Craig Ward Scholarship: Amanda Couture of Rome.

Distinguished Information and Library Services Student Award: Heather Kupiec of North Monmouth.

Kennebec Leadership Institute/Honors Program Scholarship: Tessa Hayes of Vassalboro.

Lila and Vernon Segal Scholarship: Sarah Therrien of Augusta.

Martin and Molly Schwartz Scholarship: Valerie Giusani of Wiscasset.

Maine Policy Scholar: John McLaughlin of Manchester.

C. Richard Haskell Memorial Scholarship: Eric Gagne of Augusta.

Career Achievement Award: Ashley Peaslee of Whitefield.

Outstanding Male Athlete: Hans Valentin of Augusta.

Dr. Maya Angelou Leadership and Service Award: Ashley Peaslee of Whitefield.

Distinguished Biology Student Award, Karen Theberge, Wayne.

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, Juste Gatari, Augusta; Tessa Hayes, Vassalboro; Haley Madore, Augusta; John McLaughlin, Manchester; and Sarah Therrien, Augusta.

Augusta Kiwanis Club — Janet A. White Scholarship: Clinton Pettengill of Winthrop.

Cony High School Scholarship: Shaun Lishness of Augusta.

Distinguished Social Sciences Student Award: Jennifer Capen of Hallowell.

Lloyd J. Jewett Jr. Scholarship: Julie McKenney of Belgrade.

Leadership and Service Scholarship: Amanda Exner of Augusta.

Outstanding Cornerstone Student: Katie Cunningham of West Gardiner.

Lila and Vernon Segal Scholarship: Kristel Thyrring of Augusta.

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges: Alyssa Betts of Kents Hill.

Student Government Association

Officers: Elora Hixon of Richmond, president; Ashley Peaslee of Whitefield, vice president; and Shawn Staples of Readfield, student representative to the Board of Trustees; and Devin Hemati of Augusta, student body representative.

Representatives: Erik Mason of Augusta and Christine McCormick of Whitefield.

Honors Program

Certificates of Completion: Juste Gatari and JoAnn Malone, both of Augusta; Jennifer Capen of Hallowell; John McLaughlin of Manchester; David Redmond of Manchester; and Karen Theberge of Wayne.

Honors Council Participation: Tessa Hayes of Vassalboro.

Student Association: Tessa Hayes of Vassalboro, president; Sarah Therrien of Augusta, director of community service; and Joshua Lawrence of Augusta, director of public relations.

Director’s Award for Distinguished Participation: Tessa Hayes of Vassalboro.

Outstanding Participation: Joshua Lawrence and Sarah Therrien, both of Augusta.

Expressions: Joshua Lawrence of Augusta.

The UMA Scholar: David Redmond of Manchester, technical editor.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.