HALLOWELL — Spectrum Generations’ William S. Cohen Center, 22 Town Farm Road, raised more than $1,500 at its recent Bridge-A-Thon benefit event.

Twenty local players participated by gathering sponsors and donations. All proceeds benefit the programs, services and community activities at the center.

Prizes of gift certificates to local businesses were awarded in five categories. Frances Wadleigh raised the most funds; Edith Falcone, highest overall score; April Napolitano placed second; Pat Leach placed third; and Nancy Wadleigh won lowest hand.

Frances Wadleigh organized the event.

The center has also announced its recent bridge and cribbage winners.

Sept. 27 bridge winners were Herman Nichols, who placed first; Gloria Bilodeau, second; Kirk Palmer, third; and Bob Chandler, fourth.

Game day bridge winners on Sept. 26 were Gene Murray, who placed first; Sally Foster, second; and Ron Farris, third.

Cribbage winners on Sept. 24 were Lily Coombs and Freda Plumley, who placed first; Carl Gowen and Harold Mott, second; Bill Beckim and Pat Veilleux, third; and Joan Marston and Gloria Bilodeau, fourth. High hand went to Dick Frazee.

Sept. 20 bridge winners were Judy Canning, who placed first; Gloria Bilodeau, second; Jerry Sandidge, third; and Muriel Suroweic, fourth.

Bridge is played at the center on Thursdays from 1 to 4 p.m. For more information, call 626-7777.

Duplicate bridge

winners announced

AUGUSTA — The Augusta Duplicate Bridge Club has announced its recent winners.

Winners on Sept. 26, were: north/south — Paul Mitnik and Paul Sherman, Bob Angland and John Erdman, and Sharron Hinckley and Rosemarie Goodwin; east/west — Frank Shorey and Shirley West, Janet Arey and Vinal Look, and Stan Mathieu and Paul Jones.

Sept. 27 winners were Henry Lerette and Paul Mitnik, Linda Leotsakos and Mary Anne Trafton, and Sharron Hinckley and Fred Letourneau.

Winners on Sept. 19 were Sharron Hinckley and Fred Letourneau, Stan Mathieu and Paul Jones, Paul Sherman and John Erdman, and Nancy Glusker and Diane Bishop.

Sept. 20 winners were Paul Mitnik and Henry Lerette, a tie between Michele Cozart and Jan Arey and Jim Gray and Scott Rivard.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.