SOMERVILLE — The treasurer and town clerk/administrative assistant will continue to be elected in Somerville.

Residents at Town Meeting on Saturday rejected warrant articles to allow the Board of Selectmen to appoint those officials.

Voters did approve a change to the election of selectmen, who will be elected to staggered three-year terms starting next year.

Don Chase was elected to a one-year term as second selectman. He received 74 votes, while Larry Peaslee received 19 and write-in candidate Janice Hisler received 25.

First Selectman Susan Greer and Third Selectman Carolyn Doyle were unopposed for re-election.

For town clerk, Martha Staples defeated Delta Chase, 79 votes to 43.

Jesse Turner won the position of road commissioner with 65 votes. Bruce Dawson received 62 votes, and write-in candidate Hunter Peaslee received three.

Voters increased the town’s grants to charitable organizations by $500 and made changes to the list of organizations to which the selectmen can allocate the funds. The other budget articles passed unchanged.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.