PORTLAND — The Richard H. and Scottie Pierce Family Foundation has announced the winners of its 2013 scholarship program. The following Somerset County students have been chosen to receive $1,000 scholarships to accredited institutions of higher learning.

Lindsay Ann Morris, Taylor Renee Rolfe, Hannah Tompkins and Ahlin l. Sungsuwan, all of Lawrence High School; Raeanne M. Curtis, Jacob William Johnson and Alexandra McClintock, all of Madison Area Memorial High School; Patrick Thomas Poirier and Brittney Ann Stetkis, both of Skowhegan Area High School; Courtney Marie Frost and Sarah Larlee, both of Carrabec High School; Angel Star Pacheco, of Forest Hills Consolidated School; Kristin Weeks, of Piscataquis High School; Jordyn Nicole Cram, of Maine Central Institute; Isaac Wacome, of Thomas College; Seth Sweet, of Old Dominion University; Jennifer Hovey, Sarah Marie Hoak and Olivia Brown, all of University of Maine at Farmington, and Trey Vintinner, of University of New England.

This is the fifth consecutive year the program has awarded scholarships to Maine students. The annual program chooses students from the Somerset County region because Pierce’s parents were born and raised there. Supporting Maine students has long been a core value of the Pierce family and although Mr. Pierce passed away in 2011, his wife Scottie and his family remain committed to continuing the legacy of the Family Foundation Scholarship in his name. To recognize the scholarship winners, a luncheon will be held at Heritage House, in Skowhegan, Monday, July 15.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.