Jack Cosgrove, head coach of a University of Maine football team that won the Colonial Athletic Association championship and finished 10-3 after its second NCAA playoff appearance in three years, was named Co-Coach of the Year for Region 1 of the Football Championship Subdivision by the American Football Coaches Association.

Cosgrove shared the award with Joe Moorhead of Fordham University, whose Rams went 12-2 and, like Cosgrove’s Black Bears, were eliminated from the FCS national tournament Saturday.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active AFCA members who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The five national Coach of the Year winners will be announced next month at the AFCA convention in Indianapolis.

This marks Cosgrove’s third Coach of the Year award this season, following the CAA and New England Football Writers’ Association honors. He was the 1996 and 2001 Atlantic-10 Coach of the Year and is an Eddie Robinson Award finalist for the third time.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.