AUGUSTA — Drivers will have to move their cars off city streets beginning at noon.

The Augusta Police Department announced this morning that the winter parking ban will go into effect at 12 p.m. Wednesday and extend through 7 a.m. Thursday.

The ban prohibits parking on city streets but allows people to park in designated areas.

The City of Gardiner also declared a parking ban from 8 p.m. Wednesday to 7 a.m. Thursday to allow public works crews to remove the snow.

And Gov. Paul LePage announced that state offices in nine counties will close at noon: Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Waldo, Androscoggin, York, Cumberland, and Oxford.

All other counties will remain open for normal business hours.

“Please remember to keep a safe distance behind other vehicles and give plow trucks plenty of room to operate,” LePage said in a statement.

Check unofficial snowfall amounts throughout the state. Amounts are provided by the Gray and Caribou offices of the National Weather Service.

For businesses and school closings and cancellations, click here.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.