The town of Pittston elected a new selectman Monday, along with new members for several other boards and committees in an election with less than a third of last year’s turnout.

Roger T. Linton garnered 107 votes as the only Board of Selectmen candidate on the ballot, according to Town Clerk Deborah Barry. Linton will replace Vicki Kelley, who decided to not run for re-election, on the board.

All three Planning Board candidates on the ballot were elected to the three open positions, with Laura Walentine receiving 92 votes, Terry J. Shepherd receiving 86 and Daniel J. Taggart receiving 80.

Road Commissioner Sam Snow was re-elected with 100 votes, and Sylvanus Larry Ireland, the only Budget Committee candidate on the ballot, received 104 votes.

All other positions required write-in votes, and the town will check with the people who received the most votes to see if they want to accept the positions, Barry said.

Kelley received 28 write-in votes for Budget Committee, which has three open seats, and Bill Hebert and Hope Ricker both received two votes apiece.

John Hanley received 18 votes for the open seat on the Regional School Unit 11 School Board. For two open Personnel Board positions, Mark Plaisted received 15 votes and Kelley received four votes.

Andrea Sparrow received 14 votes for Planning Board alternate, and Oleksey Kakasenko received five votes for East Pittston water district director.

All positions are three-year terms.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.