Students planning to pursue a business-related field in college are invited to apply for the Franklin Scholar program. Franklin Savings Bank’s Community Development Foundation has announced it will again award 10 local students a total of $30,000 in scholarships this spring.

The scholarships will be available to class of 2014 students graduating from Mt. Blue High School, Mt. Abram Regional High School, Dirigo High School, Mountain Valley High School, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, Skowhegan Area High School, Madison Area Memorial High School, Spruce Mountain High School and Carrabec High School. Scholars must graduate from one of the nine schools.

High school seniors who plan to pursue a major at a four-year college or university in business-related fields, such as accounting, finance, computer science or marketing, are eligible for the scholarships. Selection criteria for the Franklin Savings Bank Community Development Foundation scholarships is based on high academic achievement, community citizenship, participation in athletics or other extra curricula activities, and financial need.

While the Franklin Savings Bank Community Development Foundation will fund the scholarships, the recipients will be selected by their schools. Applications are available at the school guidance offices, at Franklin Savings Bank locations and online at™ Completed applications must be turned in to the school and comply with deadlines established by the school.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.