Some thoughts to wrap up the 2014 high school football season…

• None of the four state championship games had a close final score this season, as each was decided by at least 20 points. Does that mean we’re in a new era of dominant teams? Probably not.

The all blowout years are a rarity. This season was just the fourth in the last 20 seasons in which the margin of victory in each state championship game was more than eight points (a touchdown and 2-point conversion). The other years were 2010, 2009 and 2004.

More often than not, games are closer and we get what we had in 2013, in which three of the four games were close and decided in the final minutes.

• My final top 10:

1. Thornton Academy

2. Marshwood

3. Windham

4. Cheverus

5. Bonny Eagle

6. Brunswick

7. Winslow

8. York

9. Portland

10. Oak Hill

• Marshwood is the sixth Class B state champion in as many seasons. No team has repeated as Class B state champ since Winslow did it in 2000 and 2001. Whether there’s four classes or three, Class B is consistently the most competitive division in the state.

• Let’s put some historical context to Winslow’s dominant 62-14 win over Leavitt in the Class C championship game at the University of Maine on Friday night.

The 62 points scored by the Black Raiders are the most points scored in a state championship game in 29 years. In 1985, Cheverus beat Lewiston, 65-13, in the Class A state championship game.

Winslow’s 62 points is the most scored in a Class C state championship game. The previous record was Marshwood’s 51 points in 1984.

The 48-point margin of victory made the Class C state game the most lopsided state championship game since the 1993 Class B game. Winslow won that game over Wells, 55-0.

With 50 points (seven touchdowns and eight extra point kicks), Winslow senior Dylan Hapworth had to set some sort of state game scoring record, didn’t he? If anyone knows of a player who scored more points in a state championship game, please let me know.

• Oak Hill repeated as Class D state champion with a 41-21 win over Maine Central Institute. There have been many teams that won back-to-back titles, but threepeats are rare. The last team to win three state championships in a row was Marshwood, which won four Class C titles in a row from 1983 through 1986.

• While MCI did not get the outcome it hoped for on Saturday, the Huskies’ turnaround has to be acknowledged. Two season ago, MCI went 0-8. In the last two seasons, MCI went 17-3. With many talented players returning next season, expect the Huskies to contend for the Little Ten Conference title again.

• The Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists will be announced soon, likely this week. Every year, the debate over the players not on the list seems to be greater than the debate on the players who are on the ballot. Both the Fitzpatrick and the Frank Gaziano award, which goes to the top offensive and defensive lineman in the state, will be presented in January.

Travis Lazarczyk — 861-9242

[email protected]

Twitter: @TLazarczykMTM

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.