Maine’s 56 newest police officers have graduated from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, according to a release from the Maine Department of Public Safety. The new officers, who come from the local, county and state ranks, have spent 18 weeks at the academy in study and training. Among the many topics the officers studied were crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

Superior Court Justice William Stokes, a former deputy attorney general, was the graduation speaker. Stokes told the new officers, “You bring the constitution to life every day and you are the first step in implementing the Bill of Rights. Congratulations to committing yourselves to serve your communities.”

The new officers are (alphabetical order by department): Desmond R. Nutter, Augusta Police; Zachary R. Tobias, Augusta Police; Jordan A. Bragan, Bangor Police; Shannon L. Davis, Bangor Police; Daniel R. Gastia, Bangor Police; Evan M. Haskell, Bangor Police; Tyler A. Rusby, Bangor Police; Michael J. Howie, Berwick Police; Charles A. Tompson, Brunswick Police; Kevin R. Collins, Buxton Police; Timothy M. Davis, Camden Police; Bradley D. Scovil, Carrabassett Valley Police; John K. Sylvester, Damariscotta Police; Scott E. Jones, Dexter Police; Isaac J. Delabruere, Eliot Police; Alexander W. Beaton, Falmouth Police; Michael J. Lyman, Farmington Police; Michael T. Delena, Fort Kent Police; Christopher D. Balestra, Gardiner Police; Thomas M. Curry, Lewiston Police; Travys M. Fecteau, Lewiston Police; Ellen E. Jones, Lisbon Police; Devon A. Bohacik, Livermore Falls Police; Jesse M. Gee, Newport Police; Andrew J. Castonguay, Portland Police; Zachery S. Grass, Portland Police; Kathryn E. Phelan, Portland Police; Zachary T. Theriault, Portland Police; Michael A. Parady, Penobscot County; Lucas J. Hafford, Presque Isle Police; Shawn P. LaBrecque, Saco Police; Timothy E. Locke Jr., tuition student from Thomas College; Dylan F. McNally, Wells Police; Jacqueline E. Lorenzen, Westbrook Police; Brian T. Lynch, Wilton Police; Catherine R. Burke, University of Maine Police; Nathan T. Chisholm, Van Buren Police; John F. Lash, Waldoboro Police; Luke W. Blackstone, Washburn Police; John W. Veilleux, Winslow Police; and Shawn E. Miles, Yarmouth Police.

Graduates from state agencies are: Travis C. Belleard, State Police; Nathan C. Drost, State Police; Gavin J. Endre, State Police; Michael D. Lane, State Police; Travis R. Luce, State Police; Stephen M. Macumber, State Police; John R. McEwen, State Police; Klayton C. Peckham, State Police; Caleb M. Poirier, State Police; Martin G. Royle, State Police; Joseph M. Booth, Maine Marine Patrol; Richard N. DerBoghosian, Maine Marine Patrol; Chad P. Webster, Maine Marine Patrol; Charles B. Tetreau, Maine Marine Patrol; and Joshua D. Polland, Maine Warden Service.

Note: The officers from the state agencies will have additional training before they begin patrolling, sometime next year.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.