Voters across central Maine will head to the polls Tuesday to vote on school budgets, in municipal elections, and in Waterville to decide whether to keep the city’s garbage collection program.

Tuesday’s votes include:


Voters will take to the polls to vote on a contentious school budget hacked down to $265,000 from the original proposal of $9.4 million.

An ongoing feud between the school board and the teachers’ association lead to a defunding of most of the operating budget for the coming fiscal year, beginning July 1, for the district that includes Phillips, Strong, Avon and Kingfield.

At a previous meeting, school Superintendent Erica Brouille urged parents and teachers to vote no on Tuesday, allowing the board to put together a new budget. Even if a yes vote prevails, Brouille said the stripped-down budget would be deemed unconstitutional by the board.


“It’s the obligation of the board of directors to provide a public education for the students in their districts, and they have to fund it accordingly,” said Brouille. “By giving us $265,000, they’re not funding what they’re directed to do. They have a statutory obligation to provide education for the kids — our budget’s $9 million. It was amended to $265,000. So they’re not fulfilling the statutory obligation that they have, so we would have to declare that budget unconstitutional. We don’t want to go there, because there are no statutes around that. We want to just have a no vote and go to another budget meeting.”


Five candidates, including one incumbent, are running for two seats on the Board of Selectmen.

Incumbent Selectwoman Darla Pickett is seeking re-election to the five-member Board of Selectmen. She is challenged by Lake George Park manager Derek Ellis, developer Christopher Kruse, high school physical education teacher Soren Siren and real estate broker Ronald Blaisdell.

In the race for road commissioner, 23-year incumbent Gregory Dore, of East Madison, is being challenged for the fourth time by Donald Kinney Sr. and former Highway Department employee Paul Murray for a three-year term.

There are three candidates for four open seats on the 23-member SAD 54 board of directors. Incumbent directors Liz Anderson, the chairman, and Noella DesPres, whose terms expire this year, chose not to seek re-election. Both said the debate over whether to drop the high school’s “Indians” mascot and nickname didn’t have an effect on their decision not to run. Both voted to drop the name. The board kept the name after an 11-9 vote.


The polls are open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Town Office on Water Street.

The $34 million budget for the six towns in Skowhegan-based SAD 54 goes up for its final vote. Polls are open in Canaan, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Cornville, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Mercer, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Norridgewock: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., Skowhegan: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Smithfield: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.


The $32.3 million budget goes before voters in 10 towns from three counties: Chesterville, Farmington, Industry, New Sharon, New Vineyard, Starks, Temple, Vienna, Weld and Wilton.


The $3.4 million budget goes to referendum in Bingham and Moscow. Polls are open 1 to 7 p.m. in each town.



Contested races include one selectman’s seat and two seats on the Anson-Madison Water District board of trustees. There are also three open seats on the board of directors for School Administrative District 59. Polls are open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Town Office.


Town elections and Alternative Organizational Structure 92 votes.

The town has to raise $3.19 million in taxes to pay the school budget. All candidates for munical office are running unopposed. Voting is 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Town Office.



City voters decide whether to keep the pay-as-you-throw garbage and recycling program. Polls are open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the American Legion on College Avenue.


Four candidates are running to fill the Board of Selectmen seat of Tom Saviello, who is not running for another term. Contenders are Jeffrey Adams, Joseph Kinsey, Irving Faunce and Jerry Whitney.

Adams served on the Wilton Road Committee and is retired from the Maine Department of Transportation. Faunce previously served on the Planning Board, Road Committee, Finance Committee and is a former selectman. Kinsey previously served on the Wilton Planning Board and Whitney served on the Recycling Committee.

Saviello, the state senator representing District 17, served four terms on the board.

Voting opens at 8 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m. at the Town Office.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.