PORTLAND — The Richard H. and Scottie Pierce Family Foundation recently awarded $28,000 in scholarships to assist Somerset County students attain college success. Since it’s inception in 2008, the RHSPF Foundation has provided nearly $140,000 in scholarships to students from Somerset County.

The Pierce family, staunch believers in the power of education, bestows the awards in honor of Richard Pierce’s parents, who were born and raised in the region. Supporting Maine students has long been a core value of the Pierce family, and one that Richard’s wife Scottie and his family members have remained committed to after his passing in 2011.

Scholarship winners include both recent high school graduates as well as current college students working to achieve their degrees. Each of the 28 scholarship awardees will receive $1,000 to assist them in their pursuit of higher education at accredited institutions of higher learning.

To recognize the scholarship winners, a luncheon will be held at the Heritage House Restaurant in Skowhegan on Monday, July 13. Award winners, their family members, and school representatives will be invited to attend.

High school winners include: Samantha Begin, Forest Hills Consolidated School; Katelynn Cayer, Lawrence High School; Kaylee Dickey, Carrabec High School; Meredith Dorian, Skowhegan Area High School; Kate-Lynn George, Maine Central Institute; Emily Greaney, Skowhegan Area High School; Eric Hathaway, Maine Central Institute; Jeffrey Hoak, Piscataquis High School; Katie Hughes, Maine Central Institute; Abigail Weigang, Lawrence High School.

Repeat scholarship winners include: David Allen, Husson University, Skowhegan Area High School; Josie Champagne, University of Maine, Lawrence High School; Jordyn Cram, University of Southern Maine, Maine Central Institute; Sara Hoak, University of Maine, Piscataquis High School; Jennifer Hovey, University of Maine, Kennebec High School; Devin Lachapelle, University of Maine, Skowhegan Area High School; Joseph Leclair, University of Maine, Lawrence High School; Thomas Lessard, Eastern Maine Community College, Maine Central Institute; Lindsay Morris, University of Maine, Lawrence High School; Levi Murray, Maine Maritime Academy, Carrabec High School; Sara Packard, University of Maine at Presque Isle, Nokomis High School; Amber Rowell, University of Maine at Farmington, Skowhegan Area High School; Benjamin Salley, Maine Maritime Academy, Skowhegan Area High School; Joshua Shibles, University of Maine, Nokomis High School; Hunter Smith, University of Maine, Madison Area Memorial High School; Jessica Valancourt, University of New England, Carrabec High School; Trey Vintinner, University of New England, Skowhegan Area High School; and Isaac Wacome, Thomas College, Skowhegan Area High School.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.