FARMINGTON — Ryland Vandecker, of Oxford Hills, posted a two-run time of 1:16.15 to win the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference slalom title at Titcomb Mountain on Saturday.

Skowhegan’s Mike Miller was second with a combined time of 1:18.60. Sam Smith of Mt. Blue was third in 1:21.56.

Brooke Lever, of Edward Little, was the girls winner with a two-run time of 1:26.18. Allison Critelli, of Spruce Mountain, was second (1:27.64) and Audrey Herz-Smith, of Camden Hills, took third (1:27.79). Mt. Blue’s Jenna Hanrahan was fourth.

In the Mountain Valley Conference slalom race, Nick Newman, of Mountain Valley, took first (1:19.15) with the third-best time overall on the day. Teammate Curtis Gauvin (1:26.72) and Winthrop’s Charlie DeHaas (1:27.95) were second and third, respectively.

Monmouth’s Becki Bryant was the top finisher in the MVC girls race with a time of 1:34.46, good enough for 10th overall on the day. Mountain Valley’s Alecia Bolduc (1:49.69) and Mt. Abram’s Jocelyn Stevens (1:56.16) were second and third, respectively.

Camden Hills and Edward Little tied for the girls team win with 48 points. Mt. Blue was third at 61 points.

Led by Smith’s third and a fifth place finish by Hunter Bolduc, Mt. Blue took the boys team win with 38 points. Edward Little (41 points) and Mountain Valley (58 points) were second and third, respectively.

Day 2 of the alpine championships will be held Tuesday at Black Mountain in Rumford.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.