The Maine Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 2016 class on Wednesday. Here are the 23 inductees:

Raymond Alley became the all time leading scorer in Maine high school history while at Vinalhaven High and went on to become Husson College’s all-time leading scorer. Both in high school and college, Alley scored more than 2,000 career points.

Julie Bradsheet was a co-captain at the University of Maine and a second-team North Atlantic Conference player for two years She graduated as the all-time leading scorer at Central Aroostook High, with 2,164 points.

Richard “Doc” Costello coached both men’s and women’s basketball at the University of Maine, winning over 200 games with each. He’s the only coach in NCAA history to do so. He became the longtime athletic director at USM and the school named its athletic complex after him.

Joey DeRoche led Westbrook High to the 1984 state championship. He went on to play at Thomas College, becoming a two-time NAIA All-American and the school’s all-time leading scorer, with 2,218 points.

Gregg Frame was named player of the year in Central Maine while at Waterville High. He went on to Dartmouth College, scoring more than 1,000 points and, as a senior, becoming the only player ranked among the Ivy League’s top 10 in scoring, rebounding, assists and field goal percentage.

Ed Guiski was a standout athlete at Winslow High before attending Boston University for two years on a basketball and football scholarship. Ed completed his education at Gorham State College (now the University of Southern Maine) and was inducted into the Husky Hall of Fame in 1988. He coached at Dexter High for 38 years.

Tony Hamlin was a three-year starter at the University of Maine. He coached at MCI, Morse, South Portland and Penquis Valley high schools, winning 400 games, three state championships and five regional titles. A Milo native, Hamlin has served as chair of the MPA Basketball Commission and is a member of the New England Basketball Hall of Fame.

Chris Jerome earned all-state honors at Cheverus High and started four years at Bowdoin College, leading the Polar Bears in scoring and rebounding all four seasons. In 1982-83, Jerome was named New England Division III Player of the Year.

John Jordan played at Falmouth High and the University of Southern Maine, where he left as the school’s all-time leading scorer and rebounder. Jordan led the Huskies to an 81-28 record over four years and was named to the NCAA New England Division III second team in 1981.

Meaghan Lane Kolyszko helped lead Cony High to three Eastern Maine titles and two state championships, in 1987 and 1989. She still shares a 3-point record by making 10 in the Class A tournament. After high school Meaghan played four years at the University of New Hampshire and later served as an assistant coach at Colby College.

Ron Marks coached at the high school level for 20 years in Eastern Maine at Sherman, Katahdin, Schenck, and Foxcroft Academy. His teams won 312 games, three state championships, and six Eastern Maine titles. He also served as a longtime official.

Fern Masse coached at Lewiston High for 40 years. His Blue Devils’ teams twice won Western Maine titles. He has directed Hoop Camp in Casco for over 45 years and impacted thousands of young players as lecturer, coach and mentor.

Bob McAllister led John Bapst to the 1959 Eastern Maine final, scoring 18 points in a memorable double overtime victory over Brewer and 28 in a loss to Bangor. He went on to become the only Maine official to referee in the NBA, in 1980-81, before returning to high school and collegiate officiating in the Pacific Northwest.

Mike McGee was a standout at Lawrence High, leading the Bulldogs to the 1976 Eastern Maine championship. He was a sophomore All-American at Colby College and reached 1,000 career points faster than anyone in school history. As a high school coach at Lawrence, McGee won two state championships and 350 games.

Len MacPhee was a 31-year coach of the University of Maine at Farmington, 24 years with the men’s program and seven with the women’s team. His women’s teams made consecutive NAIA appearances in 1995 and 1996. In all, McPhee won 322 games.

Kevin Nelson led Foxcroft Academy to the 1975 state championship and graduated as the school’s all-time leading scorer. He became a three -year starter at the University of Maine.

I.J. Pinkham played at Milbridge High and the University of Maine at Farmington. He began his coaching career at Buckfield High before moving onto Boothbay High, where he has coached for over 35 years and won a state title in 2001. Pinkham recently won his 600th game, the most of any high school coach in Maine history.

Matt Rossignol scored 2,257 points at Van Buren High and tossed in 51 in the 1985 Eastern Class B semifinals. That year he set two regional records that still stand: points (103) and field goals (37). He went on to score 1,297 points at the University of Maine and has coached high school basketball for more than two decades, currently with the Van Buren girls.

Harland Storey earned all-state honors at Greely High before becoming a Division III All-American at Colby College in 1985. He finished his career fourth on Colby’s all-time scoring list with 1,710 points and is a member of the New England Basketball Hall of Fame.

Dean Smith is a 1986 Foxcroft Academy graduate who went on to play at the University of Maine, where he was a three-time Academic All-American. He captained the Black Bears as senior and led the America East in scoring. He received the prestigious Walter Byers Award as the nation’s top scholar athlete.

Don Sturgeon was a key member of the 1957 Old Town state championship team and coached his alma mater to the 1967 state title. He was a four-year letter winner at the University of Maine and led the Black Bears in scoring and rebounding in the 1958-59 season.

Kevin Whitmore helped Waterville High win a state championship in 1985 before attending Dartmouth College for one year. He returned to Waterville to play for his father, Dick Whitmore, at Colby College. Kevin was a 1991 All-American and scored 1,357 points in three seasons for the Mules.

Charlie Wootton led Camden-Rockport High to the 1974 state championship and a 45-1 record over his final two seasons. He was a three-year starter at Bentley College and is the only player in school history to average more than 11 rebounds a game for three consecutive years. Wootton was chosen by the Philadelphia 76ers in the 1978 supplemental draft.

In addition, five Legends of Hall and two historic teams will be inducted into the hall.

The Legends are Jim Connellan, Dick Doyle, Eddie Griffin, Dewey Dewitt and Terry Healey.

The two teams are the 1995 Cony High girls and the 1947 Patten High boys. Cony went unbeaten and Patten won the New England Championship over Boston Latin.

This story will be updated.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.