WATERVILLE — Two longtime city councilors — Chairman John O’Donnell and Rosemary Winslow — do not plan to run for re-election in November.

“I can probably be convinced to do it again if they can’t find anybody,” O’Donnell, a Democrat who represents Ward 5, said Thursday. “But personally, I think I’ve put in my time and enjoyed my time, but thought someone else might want to take over.”

O’Donnell, a Waterville lawyer, has been a councilor 10 years and was elected chairman unanimously in January.

Winslow, also a Democrat, who represents Ward 3, has been a councilor 16 years.

Winslow did not return phone calls Thursday requesting comment, but Hannah Heidt, chairman of the Waterville Democratic City Committee, said a special caucus will be held at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday at the Democratic campaign headquarters at 48 Main St. to nominate a candidate to run for her slot on the council.

“Rosemary is not running again,” Heidt said. “She has been a pillar in the community for God knows how long. It’s really a shame that she is stepping down. We’re sad to see her go.”


Heidt said the executive committee of the Democratic City Committee will choose a candidate to run for O’Donnell’s seat.

“Right now, we’re narrowing it down, and hopefully we’ll have a name to give to (the city) soon.”

Both councilors voted to override Mayor Nick Isgro’s veto of the $38 million city budget July 19 in a contentious meeting. The council repealed the override Monday and the council re-opened the budget. O’Donnell, however, didn’t cite the recent tense atmosphere surrounding the budget as a factor in his departure.

When voters go to the polls Nov. 1, they will elect not only two city councilors to replace O’Donnell and Winslow, but also two Waterville Board of Education members and Kennebec Water District trustees in wards 3 and 5.

The Waterville Republican City Committee will hold a caucus at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday in the City Council chamber at The Center to nominate candidates for the council, the Board of Education and Kennebec Water District seats, all of whom would be seeking three-year terms.

The Democratic City Committee held a caucus July 25 and nominated Winslow, as well as incumbent Board of Education members Joan Phillips-Sandy, D-Ward 3, and Tiffany LaLiberty, D-Ward 5 to run for re-election. Incumbent Kennebec Water District trustees Jeff Earickson, D-Ward 3, and J. Michael Talbot, D-Ward 2, also were nominated.


Neal Patterson, chairman of the Republican City Committee, said Thursday that he has corresponded with Isgro via email and learned there seems to be interest from some Republicans to run for seats that are up for election.

Nominees chosen at a caucuses will have a “D” or an “R” placed next to their names on the November ballot. Those not nominated at caucuses but wanting to run for office may take out papers at the city clerk’s office and gather signatures, but they would not have a party affiliation placed next to their names on the ballot.

Amy Calder — 861-9247

[email protected]

Twitter: @AmyCalder17

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.