AUGUSTA — Maine community college students were named to the All-Maine Academic Team for two-year colleges at a ceremony March 22 at the Senator Inn.

The event was hosted by the Maine Community College System Board of Trustees.

Area students receiving the award, which includes a $500 scholarship, are Carroll Chapman, of Embden, who attends Kennebec Valley Community College in Fairfield/Hinckley; Meredith Cohen, of Hallowell, who attends Kennebec Valley Community College; and Bronson Kieltyka, of Monmouth, who attends Southern Maine Community College in South Portland/Brunswick.

The All-Maine Academic Team is a program of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service. The All-Maine Academic Team is co-sponsored by Northeast Trophy, Phi Theta Kappa, and the MCCS.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.