The state championship speech team from Skowhegan Area High School visited Augusta’s State House on May 16. Rep. Brad Farrin, R-Norridgewock, welcomed the team.

Members included Adelle Belanger, Maggie Pono, Sydney Lyman, Wyatt Carey, Sarah Brooker, Lily Weston, Shawn Hewett, Haley Surette, Bailey Weston, Emma York, Samantha Coombs, Brianna Ladaga, Phoebe Lyman, Teacher Maura Smith, Taylor Kruse, Anna Bourassa and Romy Gerstenberger, along with their teacher Maura Smith.

The group was given a tour, observed a Legislative session, spent some time at the Maine State Museum, and later were presented with a Legislative Sentiment for their state championship victory.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.