AUGUSTA — The Skating Association of Maine hosted its annual board meeting April 8 to recognize several members of the community for their commitment to the non-profit’s mission to encourage and promote ice skating programs in Maine. The 2018 Hockey and Figure Steering Committees were also elected and announced.

The following individuals received the associations outstanding volunteerism awards: Ric Sirois, from Augusta, long-time head coach with SAM; Nicole Sacre, registrar; David Jamison, from Gardiner; tournament director and long-time head coach with SAM; Vaugh Smith, SAM hockey representative and long-time head coach; and Sue Smith, board president all received a plaque from the association to recognize their time and commitment to the organization.

During the meeting, the committees were elected and announced for both the hockey and figure skating committees.

The SAM Hockey Steering Committee is: Dan Foster, chair; Corey Vose, vice chair, House Hockey; Richard Fortin, player representative; Janette Kirk, IT/PR; Kris Vigue, fundraising chair; Ian Gould, Grow the Game; Derek Wing, State Representative; Shelby Thibodeau, tournament director, House Hockey; Sean Arnold and Mike Gray (co-chairs), equipment managers.

The SAM Figure Skating Steering Committee is: Dawn Kilgore, chair; Molly Patten, vice chair; Theresa Norris, finance director; Wendy Brotherlin, secretary; Melissa Emerson, membership chair; and Stephanie Weber, IT director/PR.

For more information, visit

Comments are not available on this story.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.