SKOWHEGAN — The secret ballot portion of the annual Town Meeting will be held from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday in the Council Room at the Municipal Building.

Two races are contested on the ballot as two seats are up on the Board of Selectmen and the town’s longtime Road Commissioner, Greg Dore, will be retiring after 29 years of service to the town. Two candidates are running for the position.

“We needed to express our appreciation to Greg Dore as Road Commissioner,” Town Manager Christine Almand said at Saturday’s annual Town Meeting. “He will be retiring this Tuesday after 29 years of dedicated service to this town so you do not see his name on the ballot this Tuesday.”

“We are certainly going to be up for some possible changes coming in the future, however, Greg has provided a great service to this community and I would like to congratulate him on his retirement.”

Harold Bigelow, incumbent Todd Smith, incumbent Roger Staples and Daniel Swain are running for two available three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen.

Craig Belliveau and Donald Kinney Sr. are seeking the three-year term for town road commissioner.

Robert Haynes and Jennifer Olson are running for two open spots for five-year terms as Coburn Park commissioners.

Mark Bedard, Lynda Quinn and Amy Rouse are running for four open spots on the Maine School Administrative District 54 board of directors. All three now sit on the board.

A ballot box is available outside of the Municipal Building for absentee ballot drop-offs.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.