AUGUSTA — The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles is expanding the number of communities where motorists can renew driver’s licenses at their local AAA branch.

Following a successful pilot program in Waterville, the program is being expanded Wednesday to include AAA branches in Portland, Bangor and Augusta.

Search photos available for purchase: Photo Store →

Secretary of State Charlie Summers, who oversees the bureau, says the public-private partnership is providing more locations and flexible hours without any additional cost. AAA branch office business hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Summers will join AAA Northern New England President Eric Cyr on Wednesday in Portland. The program will eventually include AAA’s remaining five offices.