SKOWHEGAN — Somerset County USDA Farm Service Agency recently announced the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments program enrollment for 2010 crop year losses will end June 1.

The following counties received a disaster designation or are next to a county receiving a designation is 2010: Aroostook, Hancock, Knox, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington.

To qualify for a supplemental revenue assistance payment, the producer’s operation must be located in or next to a county that was declared a disaster for 2010 and had at least a 10 percent production loss that affects one crop of economic significance. Producers with agricultural operations located outside a disaster county are eligible for SURE benefits if they had a production loss greater or equal to 50 percent of the normal production on the farm.

To meet program eligibility requirements, producers must have obtained a policy or plan of insurance for all insurable crops through the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and obtained Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program coverage on non-insurable crops, if available, from FSA. Eligible farmers and ranchers who meet the definition of a socially disadvantaged, limited resource or beginning farmer or rancher do not have to meet this requirement. Forage crops intended for grazing are not eligible for SURE benefits.

For more information, call 474-8323 before the June 1, or visit

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.