Eight members will be inducted into the Maine Sports Hall of Fame at its 37th annual awards banquet on May 20 at the Bangor Civic Center.

The new class includes former Colby College basketball standout Matt Hancock. The Division III Player of the Year as a senior in 1990, Hancock scored a school-record 2,678 points and was a three-time All-American.

Also in this year’s class is Cony High School and University of Maine football standout Phillip Coulombe. In 1950, Coulombe averaged 4.23 yards per carry. He is remembered for gaining 108 yards on 15 carries, helping the Black Bears take a come-from-behind 16-7 win over Connecticut.

Former Mt. View and University of Maine basketball star Emily Ellis also will be inducted. When she graduated from Maine in 1985, Ellis held school scoring records in five categories.

The rest of the class includes former UMaine football coach Walter Abbott, longtime Dexter High School boys basketball coach Edward Guski, UMaine baseball standout Dennis Libbey, Springfield College and Bowdoin College football coach Howard Vandersea, and Husson basketball star Dana Wilson.

Four scholar athletes also will be honored: Seth Sweet (Madison), Carylanne Wolfington (Hallowell), Jordan Hersom (Turner) and Patrick LaChance (Raymond).

Wayne Lawton and Keith Mahaney, both of Bangor, will receive the President’s Award.

The buffet dinner will begin at noon. Tickets are $40 for members of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and $45 for non-members. A reserved table for 10 is $400. Tickets may be purchased until May 13. No tickets will be available at the door.

Order forms for tickets should be sent to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame, Attn: Banquet Ticket Sales, P.O. Box 8554, Portland, Maine 04104. To purchase tickets online, visit www.mshof.com.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.