AUGUSTA — Size and depth is a tough combination to beat and those are two reasons the Nokomis girls basketball team has yet to lose a game this season.

Saturday night at Cony High School, the Warriors wore down Leavitt and Kristen Anderson as they pulled away for a 65-53 win in the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference Class B championship game.

Anderson scored a game-high 28 points but it wasn’t nearly enough to offset the depth of Nokomis, which had five players scored 10 points each. Just as important, the Warriors controlled the boards.

“It’s tough when you throw Marissa Shaw and Anna MacKenzie in there together and then you have Traci Carson coming off the bench,” Nokomis coach Kori Dionne said. “That’s tough for other teams to match up against.”

These teams played for the state championship last season with Leavitt winning the Gold Ball, but graduation losses have shifted the advantage toward the Warriors who went 18-0 during the regular season. They scored nearly all their points in the paint with Shaw, MacKenzie, Kylie and Kelsie Richards and Emilee Reynolds each scoring 10 points.

The Hornets countered with Anderson who hit four 3-pointers and dished out seven assists. When the teams met in the regular season, the junior guard scored 39 points in a 61-60 overtime loss. She scored nine points and had four assists in an entertaining first quarter that ended tied at 20.

Adrianna Newton added 13 points and 14 rebounds for Leavitt but that duo wasn’t enough to slow the Warriors who pulled away with a 14-2 run to end the third quarter. MacKenize had three layups in the run while Shaw started it with a layup and ended it with a putback at the buzzer to make it 48-41.

* * *

Medomak Valley beat Gardiner 61-57 to win the boys game . . . Dionne was named Class B girls coach of the year while Medomak’s Nick DePatsy was the boys coach of the year . . . Medomak’s Alanna Vose was the girls player of the year while Leavitt’s Jordan Hersom was boys player of the year. Hersom also won the Fitzpatrick Trophy this year as the state’s top senior football player . . . The KVAC girls first team included Shaw (Nokomis), Jordan Knowlton (Camden Hills), Vose (Medomak), Anderson (Leavitt) and Elizabeth Ferry (Winslow).

The boys first team consisted of Adam Carlsen (Camden Hills), Aaron Toman (Gardiner), Hersom (Leavitt), Isaac Greenrose (Medomak) and Ethan Pearl (Nokomis).

Gary Hawkins — 621-5638

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.