SKOWHEGAN — Samantha A. Turcotte of Cornville, a senior at Skowhegan Area High School, was recently selected to receive the 2012 Principal’s Award. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

Turcotte, Principal Wilson and other award winners and their principals will attend an honors luncheon at 1 p.m. Saturday, April 7, at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor.

The luncheon recognizes the students with the presentation of an individual plaque. Five students will be awarded $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. McGowan and Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the association.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the Association which represents Maine’s school administrators.