ROCKPORT — The Center for Maine Contemporary Art announced artists for the CMCA 2012 Biennial Exhibition, which will open in the fall.

Co-curators Suzette McAvoy, director of CMCA, and Daphne Andereson Deeds, an independent curator from Connecticut, have chosen 17 artists for the exhibition.

“There were 415 artists who submitted to the 2012 Biennial and over 3,350 individual works in a wide range of mediums,” McAvoy said in a press release. “After thorough review and much difficult decision-making, Daphne and I ultimately selected 10 artists from the open submissions and invited 7 others to participate.”

The seven invited artists are: Tom Butler, Rockland; Lauren Fensterstock, Portland; Cassie Jones, Brunswick; Luc Demers, Portland; Lisa Kellner, Rangeley; David Stess, Cherryfield; Kitty Wales, Vinalhaven.

The 10 selected artists are: Kenny Cole, Monroe; Grace DeGenarro, Yarmouth; Lynda Litchfield, Cape Elizabeth; Robin Mandel, Cushing; James Marshall, Brunswick; Jonathan Mess, Jefferson; Benjamin Potter, Belfast. Kate Russo, Rockland; Aaron Stephan, Portland; Erik Wiesenburger, South Portland.

The 2012 biennial will be on view Sept. 29 through Dec. 2.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.