PORTLAND — No. 2 seed Mike Hill of Topsham beat top-ranked Ben Cox 6-1, 6-1 to win the men’s open singles title at the 40th annual Maine Tennis Association Championship on Sunday at the Waynflete Sports Complex.

Hill, the No. 1 player on the Brown University team, used a booming first serve and powerful groundstrokes to beat Cox, a former University of Michigan star.

Hill beat No. 3 seed Brian Mavor 6-0, 6-1, while Cox beat No. 4 seed Tyler Adams 6-1, 6-2 in the semifinals.

In the men’s open doubles final, Aaron Bergeron and Hugo Robinson won their third straight title, beating Josh Pendergast and Marius King 6-4, 7-6 (5) in the final.

Karolina Pierko of Saco won the women’s open singles title, while Pierko and Elisa Whittier won the women’s open doubles title. Other winners were: Sonu Bhatia (men’s 35+ singles); Ron Chicoine (men’s 45+ singles); and Art Goldsmith (men’s 55+ singles).

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.