The Richard H. and Scottie Pierce Family Foundation scholarship was created four years ago by Richard (Dick) and Scottie Pierce. Dick was a lifelong advocate for higher education in Maine and spent much of his life working tirelessly toward that end. Since 2009 Dick and Scottie have awarded $20,000 in scholarships each year to deserving students in Somerset County. They began the scholarship in Somerset County to honor the hometown of Dick’s parents-Henry and Bea Pierce.

This year the awards come at a particularly poignant time, Dick passed away in 2011 and his family and friends will celebrate his life at a memorial service in Waterville on July 19.

This years recipients include: Jennifer Hovey, Upper Kennebec Valley High School; Jessica McIntire, Skowhegan Area High School; Taylor Wright, Maine Central Institute; Olivia Brown, Skowhegan High School; Matthew Soucy, Madison Area Memorial High School.

Sudie Myers, Carrabec High School; Caitlin Levesque, Carrabec High School; Amber Rowell, Skowhegan Area High School; Sarah Hoak, Piscataquis; Zack Sweet, 2010 graduate of Madison Area Memorial High School; Seth Sweet, Madison Area Memorial High School.

Christopher Low, 2010 graduate of Lawrence High School; Lindsey Kandiko, 2011 graduate of Madison Area Memorial High School; Minna Mathiasson, 2009 graduate of Skowhegan Area High School; Ashley Kitchin, Maine Central Institute; Isaac Wacome, Skowhegan Area High School.

Lucas London, Skowhegan Area High School; Mikaela Frigon, Upper Kennebec Valley High School; Trey Vintinner, Maine Central Institute; and Randi Kaplan, Carrabec High School.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.