AUGUSTA — Following Senate confirmations, Maine Gov. Paul LePage is wasting no time in swearing in eight judicial reappointments and the state’s new labor commissioner, Jeanne Paquette.

The ceremony Friday was held in the Cabinet Room of the State House.

Taking the oath in addition to Paquette were Supreme Court Justice Donald Alexander; Superior Court Justices Jeffrey Hjelm, Thomas Humphrey, Thomas Warren, Joyce Wheeler, and Carl Badford; and District Court Judges Keith Powers and Kevin Stitham.

Taking the oath later this month will be Supreme Court Justice Warren Silver and two new judges, Dan Billings and John Lucy. Billings is LePage’s former chief legal counsel.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: