FARMINGTON — University of Maine at Farmington recently announced that Alison Hagerstrom and Gerald Cayer were recently elected as the chair and vice-chair of the UMF Board of Visitors.

Hagerstrom is executive director of the Greater Franklin Development Corporation. She is a former Farmington business owner with more than 20 years of manufacturing and management experience. The Maine Development Foundation recognized the Greater Franklin Development Corporation for its commitment to Maine with the 2007 Champion of Economic Development Award.

Hagerstrom served on the Plus 1 Small Business Committee created by former Governor Angus King, and in 1991 received the UMF Alumni Association’s Alumni Achievement Award. In 2011, she was honored with the Florence Hewey Archibald ’27 Alumni Service Award. She is a UMF graduate and is the current president of the board of directors for the Economic Development Council of Maine.

Cayer is executive vice president of Franklin Community Health Network, a comprehensive health care system serving areas of central and western Maine. He has served as chief operating officer of Franklin Memorial Hospital, an affiliate of the FCHN, since 2005.

A native of Lewiston, Cayer previously served as the director of the Department of Health and Human Services for the City of Portland. He received his bachelor’s degree in community health education from UMF, later earning a master’s degree in public health from Boston University. Cayer resides in Waterville with his wife, Tami, and their children, Chelsea, Ethan and Annie.

In May, by University of Maine System Board of Trustee approval, Peter Addicott, Betty-Jane Meader, and Jane Mickeriz were elected to serve a first three-year term on UMF’s Board of Visitors. They will join Alison Hagerstrom, Gerald Cayer, Dana Bullen, Sharon Cullenberg, Chris DeMerchant, Edward Fox, Ray Glass, Sandra Goodwin, Bruce Hazard, Lisa Park Laflin, Nancy Marshall, Janet Mills and Tanya Swain currently serving the University.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.