BIDDEFORD — Maine’s highest court is honoring 16 York County lawyers for their pro bono work on behalf the poor and elderly.

The Maine Supreme Judicial Court will recognize the lawyers at an awards ceremony at Biddeford District Court at noon Tuesday. The lawyers are Diane M. Edgecomb, Rita M. Farry, Scott David Giese, Jennifer G. Hayden, Pamela S. Holmes, Lori A. Howell, Erin O’Reilly Jakan, Amy B. McGarry, Robert M. Powers, Amanda E. Ramirez, Craig John Rancourt, R. July Simpson, Charles W. Smith Jr., Angela M. Thibodeau, Neal Weinstein and Russell B. White.

The state supreme court created the Katahdin Counsel Recognition Program last year. Lawyers who complete at least 50 hours of pro bono work for the poor or elderly are eligible to register as a Katahdin Counsel.

Katahdin Counsel receive certificates, lapel pins and the right to use the Katahdin Counsel designation and mark on letterhead and other printed materials.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.