WINTHROP — All three council incumbents won re-election on Tuesday.

Linda S. Caprara, 46, was the top vote-getter with 2,306. She has been on the Town Council since 1997, and is director of grassroots advocacy for the Maine State Chamber of Commerce and a registered lobbyist.

Current Council Chairman Kevin Cookson garnered 2,187 votes, to keep the seat he’s held for 12 years. A former police officer and founder of the Winthrop Ambulance Service, he runs his own investigation business, I Swear Pro-fessional Investigations.

Lawrence Fitzgerald, 52, won election to council earlier this year in a three-way race to fill a seat held by James Lattin, who resigned. Fitzgerald was sworn into office in April. On Tuesday, he received 2,086 votes to win a full, three-year term.

He manages environmental health, safety and security for TRC Solutions in Augusta.

Challenger Philip Richardson, 67, a former principal at Winthrop High School now working as an interim superintendent for Pittsfield-area schools, came in fourth with 1,853 votes.

Three people, two incumbents and a write-in candidate, won election to three-year terms to the board of trustees of the C.M. Bailey Public Library.

Here are the vote totals: Merrie S. Hanson, 2,920; Elizabeth G. Sienko, 2,770; and write-in Peal Ames, 55.

The totals from Town Clerk Lauri Carson are official.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.