The 42nd James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy semifinalists have been announced.

They are Brian Bedard, Leavitt Area High; Bobby Begin, Thornton Academy; Cale Bollig, Westbrook; Spencer Carey, Lawrence; Tate Gale, Portland; Donald Goodrich, Cheverus; Nick Leblond, Biddeford; Jack Lucy, Orono; Dillon Russo, Scarborough; Alex Shain, Sanford; Chandler Shostak, Cony, and Kenny Sweet Deering.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy has been awarded to the top high school football player in the state since 1971. It was open to all classes in the late 1990s and became a senior-only award soon after. The list will be whittled down to three finalists in a vote by the state’s coaches and the media.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy will be awarded at the annual banquet on Sunday, Jan. 20 at the Holiday Inn By The Bay in Portland, beginning at noon.

Jordan Hersom of Leavitt won last year’s trophy.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.