AUGUSTA — Assistant House Majority Leader Jeff McCabe, D-Skowhegan, is one of five Democrats in the Legislature appointed to the Apportionment Commission, which will meet in the coming months to redraw the Legislature’s 186 district lines.

McCabe, elected to his third House term, will serve on a 15-member bipartisan commission. The Maine Constitution requires districts to be redrawn every 10 years based on census data.

State legislators voted last year to reconfigure the line between the 1st and 2nd Congressional districts.

Other Democrats appointed to the commission are Sen. Troy Jackson, of Allagash; Sen. Emily Cain, of Orono; Rep. Mark Dion, of Portland; and Rep. Joan Welsh, of Rockport.

Republicans announced their members earlier this week: Rep. Matt Pouliot, of Augusta; Sen. Andre Cushing, of Hampden; Sen. Garrett Mason, of Lisbon Falls; Rep. Wayne Parry, of Arundel; and Rep. Amy Volk, of Scarborough.

In addition to 10 sitting legislators, the state’s two political party chairmen and three public members serve on the commission.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.