SKOWHEGAN — UMaine Cooperative Extension in Somerset County will host a gardening with raised beds and container gardening series.

This year master gardener volunteers, will teach participants, hands-on, how to build, plant, maintain and harvest from raise bed square foot gardens and containers.

The objective is for local master gardeners to care for the garden as a group and give monthly classes to show local county citizens how to successfully grow produce vegetables in a raised bed or container garden.

The following sessions are planned at the Extension Office, 7 County Drive:

* Session 1 — building a raised bed, 9-11 a.m. Wednesday, April 17. Rain date: Thursday, April 18.

* Session 2 — starting your garden, 9 a.m. Wednesday, May 15. Rain date: Thursday, May 16.

* Session 3 — caring for your garden, 9 a.m. Wednesday, June 12. Rain date: Thursday, June 13.

* Session 4 — extending your growing season, 9 a.m. Wednesday, July 17. Rain date: Thursday, July 18.

* Session 5 — using your harvest, 9 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 14. Rain date: Thursday Aug. 15.

* Session 6 — putting your garden to bed, 9 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 25. Rain date: Thursday, Sept. 26.

To register, call 474-9622 or 800-287-1495. There is no charge for this course. If you are a person with a disability and will need accommodations to participate in this program, call Tom Goodspeed at 800-287-1495 to discuss your needs. Receiving requests for accommodations at least (10 days) before the program provides a reasonable amount of time to meet the request, however all requests will be accepted.

Augusta and Waterville news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.