MADISON — The town has a new selectman and school board member as a result of elections Tuesday.

Cyprien Johnson, a self-employed contractor at Cyp Johnson Heating, will join incumbent Al Veneziano, who also won re-election Tuesday, on the board of selectmen.

Residents had three candidates to choose from in voting: two newcomers and one incumbent. Veneziano received the most votes, at 331. Johnson received 223 and Travis Andrews, 196.

“I’m very excited and happy. I plan to serve the town of Madison the best way I can,” Johnson said Tuesday evening.

Although he is new to the Madison board, Johnson formerly served as a selectman in Skowhegan and said he would like to collaborate with Skowhegan in the future to share equipment and public works costs.

In the race for the board of directors of School Administrative District 59, residents had three candidates to choose from in order to fill two seats. Incumbent Jeffrey Wright and newcomer Robert Hagopian each won seats on the board for three-year terms.


Wright received 269 votes while Hagopian received 268. Incumbent Michael Edgerly received 237 votes.

There were no other contested races Tuesday, but Cathy Wilson was elected to the Board of Assessors with 410 votes. Glen Mantor was re-elected road commissioner with 435 votes.

Kathy Estes also was re-elected to serve as town clerk and treasurer, with 450 votes. In addition to his nomination to the school board, Robert Hagopian received 373 votes to serve on the board of the Anson-Madison Sanitary District.

Richard Bartlett received 426 votes to serve on the Madison Electric Works board of directors. Ann Heald received 426 votes to serve as a trustee for the Madison Public Library, and Howard Daigle received 421 votes also to serve on the library board of trustees.

Lisa Wright received 423 votes to serve as a trustee for the Anson-Madison Water District. She also received four votes as a write-in candidate to serve on the Madison Water District board of trustees.

Rachel Ohm — 612-2368
[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.