OAKLAND — Just weeks after making an appointment to the Regional School Unit 18 board, Oakland’s town leaders once again are seeking candidates to serve on the board.

Those who submit nomination packets by Sept. 16 will be on the November ballot for the school board, the Town Council, and the town’s Budget and Advisory Committee.

One seat that will be open on the school board is held by Mary-Anne LaMarre, who was appointed by the Town Council on July 24 to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Donna Doucette.

Doucette resigned June 6, citing her disapproval of a new education plan in the district, which includes Belgrade, China, Oakland, Rome and Sidney.

LaMarre, who has said she supports the district’s education plan, was appointed to fill Doucette’s position until June 14, when she will be replaced by the winner of November’s election for the seat. The winner will serve the final two years of Doucette’s original three-year term.

LaMarre, who netted 921 votes to Doucette’s 2,004 in the last election, is eligible to run for the seat.


LaMarre was appointed on a 4-0-1 vote of board members, who chose her over two other candidates — Tom Burton and James Stewart.

The other open seat on the school board is for a three-year term. It is held by Doreen Leighton, whose term expires this year.

On the Town Council, the terms of Byron Wrigley and Council Chairman Michael Perkins will expire at the end of this year. Those elected in November will serve three-year terms, beginning in January.

Wrigley said he has not decided whether to run for re-election.

Perkins, who is finishing his second term, said he plans to run for a third term in November.

In 2010, Perkins and Wrigley were the two highest vote-getters among four candidates for the two seats. Perkins received 1,337 votes, while Wrigley got 1,292.

Three seats on the town’s Budget and Advisory Committee will be available when the terms of Angela Jurdak, Michael Rossignol and Kelly Roderick expire. Those elected will serve four-year terms, beginning in January.

Candidate nomination packets are available 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Town Office. Candidates must collect 25 to 100 signatures of support to appear on the ballot.

Matt Hongoltz-Hetling — 861-9287
[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.