WATERVILLE — Jennifer Johnson won the Ward 1 warden position over her competitor and spouse, David Johnson, on Tuesday night 127-76.

David Johnson, a Republican, and Jennifer, a Democrat, say they entered the race to call attention to the importance of being involved and serving the community — and as a way of getting people out to vote.

Jennifer Johnson volunteered to be nominated for the warden seat at the Waterville Democratic City Committee caucus this year, and then her husband accepted nomination from the Waterville Republican City Committee.

Their race drew statewide media attention.

A warden supervises areas and activities at the polling place on election day. Those activities include checking voters in, distributing ballots to voters, supervising the ballot machines and counting ballots at the end of the night.

Incumbents Jeff Earickson and Michael Talbot won re-election to two seats on the Kennebec Water District Board of Trustees, beating newcomer Richard Staples. Talbot received 860 votes, Earickson received 670 and Staples received 615.

Edward Lachowicz, running unopposed, was elected to the Ward 2 City Council seat. Also running unopposed and re-elected Tuesday were City Councilor Rosemary Winslow, D-Ward 3; Board of Education member Joan Phillips-Sandy, D-Ward 3; and City Councilor John O’Donnell, D-Ward 5.

Newcomer Tiffany Laliberty, D-Ward 5, was elected to the School Board. Democrat Alicia Barnes was elected as ward clerk in Ward 4. Jacqueline Dupont, a Democrat, was elected warden in Ward 7.

The Waterville charter vote was approved, but the turnout was less than the required 30 percent of voters from the last gubernatorial election. Only 1,403 votes were cast, more than 200 fewer than the 1,634 needed to make the vote valid.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.