top senior linemen

The six finalists for the Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Award were announced Thursday. The award annually goes to the top high school senior linemen in the state.

The three finalists for the offensive lineman award are Greg Grinnell of Cheverus, Ethan Liberty of Skowhegan, and Jeddidiah Scott of Sanford.

The finalists for the defensive lineman award are Jacob Fogel of Portland, Colin Richards of Mt. Blue, and Luke Washburn of Oak Hill.

The two winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 25, at the Augusta Civic Center. Husson University head football coach Gabby Price will be the guest speaker.


Each first-place winner receives a $5,000 scholarship, a trophy, and a leather jacket. The four runners-up will receive a $1,000 scholarship, a trophy, and a leather jacket.

Washburn was a key player on the Oak Hill team that won the Class D state title. Grinnell’s Cheverus squad was Class A runner-up.

Liberty helped Skowhegan advance to the Pine Tree Conference Class B semifinals, while Richards was a starter on Mt. Blue’s Class B state championship team in 2012.

The Gaziano Award was started in 2010 in memory of Frank J. Gaziano, the founder of National Distributors, Inc. and an All-American college football player at Holy Cross. Gaziano played professional football with the Washington Redskins and Boston Yanks.

Travis Lazarczyk — 861-9242tlazarczyk@centralmaine.comTwitter: @TLazarczykMTM

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.