Waterville natives Abby Spector and George Mitchell and Augusta Olympian Julia Clukey are among nine people who will be inducted into the Maine Sports Hall of Fame on May 4 at the Augusta Civic Center.

Also set for induction are Jack Cosgrove, Joe Ferris, Ed Flaherty, Bill Green, Eleanor Logan and Steve Pound.

Five scholar-athletes also will be honored as recipients of $5,000 scholarships at the banquet: Carsyn Koch, Washburn District High School; Ian Lee, Madawaska High School; Alexandra Logan, Cheverus High School, Portland; Mikayla Turner, Messalonskee High School, Oakland; and Rayne Whitten, Massabesic High School, Waterboro.


George Mitchell: The former Senate Majority Leader was a central figure in two sports investigations. In 2006 he led an investigation into the use of performance-enhancing drugs in Major League Baseball and in 2012 he served as an intergrity monitor in the wake of the Penn State sexual abuse scandal.


Since he founded the Mitchell Scholarship Program in 1995, 1,900 Maine students have received more than $8.5 million in scholarships. Mitchell was a standout basketball player at Waterville Senior High School and Bowdoin College.

Abby Spector: Winner of four schoolgirl golf championships while a student at Waterville Senior High School, Spector won the first of seven state women’s amateur championships when she was 15. She was awarded a full golf scholarship to the University of North Carolina, in 2003. In 2001, she won the New England Women’s Amateur title.

Julia Clukey: The luger was ranked as high as sixth in the world with two second-place finishes on the World Cup circuit. Clukey, who placed 17th in the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver, Canada, missed qualifying for the 2014 U.S. Olympic luge team in December by 0.013 seconds. In 2012, she hosted a camp for girls to help them develop self-confidence and healthy lifestyles.

Jack Cosgrove: Head football coach at the University of Maine since 1993, Cosgrove led the Black Bears to a 10-3 record in 2013 and the school’s first Colonial Athletic Association title. For the second time in three years, the New England Football Writers Association named him Coach of the Year.

Bill Green: Through the “Green Outdoors” and “Bill Green’s Maine” the Bangor native has created a distinctive and recognizable visual platform for the state’s recreational and outdoor sports. The Maine Sportscaster of the Year in 1984 and 1986 is a registered Maine Guide and enjoys hunting and fishing,

Ed Flaherty: An All-America performer at the University of Maine in 1975, Flaherty has been head coach of the baseball team at the University of Southern Maine since 1986. His teams have made seven College World Series appearances, winning national titles in 1991 and 1997. During Flaherty’s tenure the Huskies’ record is 842-379.


Joe Ferris: Pitching for the University of Maine in the 1964 College World Series, Ferris recorded wins over Seton Hall and Southern California and earned a save in the Black Bears’ victory over Arizona State. He was selected as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Eleanor Logan: Logan won a gold medal with the U.S. women’s eight crew in the 2008 Olympics at Beijing and repeated four years later in London. Last year, the Stanford graduate won the single sculls at the National Selection Regatta. She is preparing for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Steve Pound: At Stearns High School, Pound led the Minutemen to the 1968 State LL championship, averaging 40 points per game. He poured in 68 points in a contest with Caribou. During his career at Acadia University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Pound was twice voted Athlete of the Year.


Tickets to attend the induction banquet are $40 for members of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and $50 for nonmembers. A reserved table for 10 is $400. A social hour will start at 11 a.m. and a buffet will begin promptly at noon. Tickets may be purchased until April 29. Checks may be made payable to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and mailed to Kelly Pinney-Michaud, 58 Town Farm Road, Oakland, ME 04963. To purchase tickets online, visit and click on the Banquet Tickets link.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.