CASTLETON, St. — Castleton State freshmen Steven Jurkiewicz and Luke Salerno combined to throw 17 innings Sunday in leading the Spartans to a 6-1, 7-5 doubleheader win over Husson University to claim the North Atlantic Conference baseball championship.

Castleton’s Allen White went 5-for-8 in the two games combined, ripping four doubles and a triple to drive in three runs.

For the Eagles, Dylan Foster finished 5-for-8 on the day while Cody McInnis went 4-for-7 from the plate in the two games combined. Ben Walls led the Husson pitching staff with 8.2 innings pitched in the two games combined.

Castleton improves to 29-10 with the pair of victories, and will represent the conference as it advances to the NCAA Regionals. Husson finishes at 26-15. Kyle Peterson and Erskine graduate Sean Cabaniss of the University of Maine at Farmington were named to the all-tournament team.

STONY BROOK 4, MAINE 1: Stony Brook rallied for four runs in the eighth inning to hand the Black Bears an America East loss in Stony Brook, N.Y. Alex Calbrick and Troy Black each had a pair of hits for Maine, 19-25 overall and 6-9 in America East play. Stony Brook is 27-15, 14-3.


WISCASSET— Wiscasset’s Nick Hinkley won the Pro Stock and Late Model Sportsman races Saturday as the track opened for the season. Hinkley edged Wiscasset’s Mike Orr and Oxford’s Bill Penfold in the Pro Stock event and Steuben’s Junior Robinson and Dresden’s Allen Moeller Jr. in the Late Model race. In the 4-cylinder pro stock it was Jeff Prindall, of Lisbon Falls, followed by Strong’s Craig Dunn and Westbrook’s Bob Petten. Adam Chadbourne, of Woolwich, won the Super Street race followed by Josh Bailey and James Osmond, both of Wiscasset.

In the Outlaw Minis, it was Mexico’s Ryan Glover followed by Skowhegan’s Mike Morgan and Jimmy Childs, of Leeds. Ryan Chadwick, of Wiscasset edged Richmond’s Cody Tribbet in the Thunder 4’s with Bill Grover taking third. Sanford’s Kris Knox won the Mini Truck race followed by Milton’s Jerry McKenna and Jeff Schmidt, of Mechanic Falls. Lewiston’s Corey Morgan won the Strictly Street race followed by Union’s Dan Brown and Skowhegan’s Ben Erskine.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.