ATHENS — Voters head to the polls Tuesday to elect a new third selectman and two new directors of the Athens Municipal School Board.

There are four candidates for the third selectman’s seat, which was left vacant when Guy Anton was elected first selectman in March annual Town Meeting elections.

On the ballot are two former road commissioners, the former fire chief and a longtime Town Meeting moderator.

John Barron, who served as road commissioner in Athens at various times over 14 years is on the ballot, as is former Road Commissioner Tim Small.

Also on the ballot is former Athens Fire Chief Jamie Stafford and Mark Munn, who served as Town Meeting moderator for 14 years.

Residents at the Town Meeting in March also voted to join Dexter-based Alternative Organizational Structure 94 after having withdrawn from Madison-based School Administrative District 59, along with Brighton Plantation and Starks.

Voters at the same time agreed to increase the number of school board members from three to five.

On the ballot Tuesday will be Gene Hay, running unopposed for a two-year term. Incumbent school board member Karen Corson is challenged for a three-year term on the new five-member board by Sean Boyd.

Tuesday is also the state primary election.

Doug Harlow — 612-2367

[email protected]

Twitter: @Doug_Harlow

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.