FREDERICTON, N.B. — Hallowell race driver Johnny Clark snapped a two-year winning drought on the PASS North Series on Saturday night when he captured the main 150-lap event at Speedway 660. Clark has had several top three finishes in the series but his last win came, ironically, at Speedway 660 in 2012.

Clark edged runner-up DJ Shaw, who was trying to become the first PASS North driver to win four races in a row.

Several caution flags kept the event from gaining any rhythm. Martin Latulippe grabbed the early lead and held it until lap 84 when Clark passed him. Clark held off challenges from Joey Doiron and finally Shaw, who tried to beat him to the inside with five laps to go. But Clark held the high line to post his first tour win in two years and claim the $3,500 winner’s check.

Doiron finished third behind Shaw followed by Glen Luce and Travis Benjamin. Mike Rowe, Gary Smith, Casius Clark, Matt Harris and Cole Boudreau rounded out the top 10. Heat wins went Johnny Clark, Cassius Clark and Benjamin.


WISCASSET — Randy Cabral took the lead on lap 19 and went on to win the Northeast Midget Association (NEMA) Midgets race at Wiscasset Speedway on Saturday. It was the first time the Midgets, which reached speeds of over 100 MPH, have visited the track in 42 years.

Cabral, of Kingston, Mass., charged to the front, even complting the fastest lap of the night in 13.47 seconds, before taking the lead from Ian Cumens, who finished in second followed by Avery Stoehr.

In Victory Lane, Cabral said, “I am glad I saved it for Wiscasset. I have had nothing but troubles with my car this season. We needed this win. My crew worked really hard to get this car running. Thanks to them and K&N Engineeering for this win.”

In the NEMA Lites, a caution on lap six changed everything. Scott Bigelow, who was running third, headed inside and passed both Jake Smith and Andy Barrows to take the lead. Bigelow, of East Hampton, Conn., finished with the win. Coming from behind to finish second was Danny Cugini followed by PJ Stergios.

The 16 Thunder 4’s took the track to compete in a 20-lap feature. Trey Brown was on the pole but was passed on turn three by Bill Grover. On lap five, Mika Stover spun on the track and collected Grover, who had to be towed off the track with right front end damage and was out of the race. Leandra Martin moved into second followed by Ryan Chadwick. When action resumed Cody Robbins headed inside and passed both Chadwick and Martin, of Richmond, for second. Chadwick then passed Robbins and moved up the track looking for first. Brown held him off until Chadwick moved to the outside and passed him on lap eight. Chadwick, of Wiscasset, finished with the win followed by Robbins and Richmond’s Cody Tribbet, who had been moving through lap traffic.

In a 25-lap Strictly Streets feature, it was a hard-fought race throughout which saw Dan Brown, of Peru, earn the win. Dave Brannon, who started on the pole, took second followed by Corey Morgan.

In a quick, straight-forward race, six Mini Trucs competed in a 15-lap race. Kris Knox, of Sanford, charged to the front to earn the win. Matt Curtis finished second while Gerry McKenna was third.

Finishing out the night was a 35-lap Late Model Sportsman feature. Sidney’s Chris Thorne, who started second, earned the victory. Ryan Hinkley, who started six, ended in second place while Ryan St. Clair took third.


SCARBOROUGH — Kyle Dessouza led all 50 laps on his way to the Pro Series feature race victory at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

Dessouza started on the pole and paced the 24-car field to the green flag. After battling with 17-year-old rookie John Peters, of Westbrook, Dessouza, of Providence, R.I., was able to clear Peters coming out of the fourth turn.

Steve Carrier finished second and was followed by Oakland’s Mike Landry.

Other winners on the night were Scarborough’s Garret Hall in the Sport Series who finished ahead of Sally Gheradi and Clyde Hennessey. And, in the Wildcat division, Waterboro’s Brian Caswell took first followed by Jon Brill and David Vaughn.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.