AUGUSTA — The University of Maine at Augusta recently honored students for academic achievement and community service at its annual senior banquet in Jewett Auditorium.

UMA 2014 Award Recipients:

Lloyd J. Jewett Jr. Scholarship: India Pickett of Monmouth.

Augusta Kiwanis Club Janet A. White Scholarship: Clinton Pettengill of Winthrop, and Martin Spahn of Hallowell.

Bennett D. Katz Scholarship: Libby Wade of Lisbon.

Distinguished Nursing Student Award: Jennifer Taylor of Richmond.

Student Nurses Association Leadship Award: Julia Ellis of Augusta.

Calumet Club Scholarship: Karin True of Manchester.

Honorable Mention Participation in Civic Engagement Award: Clinton Pettengill of Winthrop, Carlee Robinson of Turner and Lisa Steeves of Farmingdale.

Early Childhood Graduate Awards: Susan MacMaster Beaulieu of Readfield.

John Blodgett Memorial Scholarship: Peter McGuire of Guilford.

Outstanding Justice Studies Studeent Award: Ian Dunn of Bowdoinham, and Logan Parker of Augusta.

Distinguished Computer Information Systems Student Award: Todd Parker of Augusta.

Cony High School Scholarship: Linda Randall of Augusta.

Honors Program: Certificates of Completion: Allan French of New Gloucester, and Jillian King of Wiscasset.

Honors Program: Student Association: Allan French, of New Gloucester, president; Carlee Robinson, of Turner, vice president; Ethan Percy,of Woolwich, secretary; Erica Fredrick-Rock, of Corinna, treasurer; Kristel Thyrring, of Augusta, director of Community Service; and Peter Hartung, of Jefferson, director of Public Relations.

Director’s Award for Distinguished Participation: Erica Fredrick-Rock of Corinna.

Kennebec Leadership Institute/Honors Program Scholarship: Erica Fredrick-Rock of Corinna.

Distinguished Information and Library Services Student Award: William Chapman of Greenwood.

Lila and Vernon Segal Scholarship: Roger Mackbach of Augusta.

Outstanding Art Student Award: Wenda Fisher of Appleton.

Jeffrey Klivans Scholarship: Jennifer Kilgore of Skowhegan.

Distinguished Social Science Student Award: Alyra Donisvitch of Manchester.

C. Richard Haskell Memorial Scholarship: Keith Chesley of Clinton.

Outstanding Male Athlete: Brandon Rogers of Augusta.

Outstanding Cornerstone Student Award: Lynn Merrill of Augusta.

Augusta Student Government Association:

Officers: Jesse Walker, of Augusta, president; Courtney Jicks, of Augusta, vice president; Gretchen Clark, of Skowhegan, director of Budget and Finance; Roger Mackbach, of Augusta, public relations coordinator; Jamie Plummer, of Richmond, activities coordinator; and Shawn Staples, of Readfield, student representative to the Board of Trustees.

Representatives: Andrew Breault of South China, and India Pickett of Monmouth.

Augusta Student Government Association Student Choice Awards: Faculty of the Year, Robert Bernheim, Assistant Professor of History; and Staff of the Year, Amy Line, Project Coordinator/Military Achievement Project.

Dr. Maya Angelou Leadership and Service Award: Jamie Plummer of Richmond.

Distinguished Biology Student Award: Tristen Ripley of Liberty.

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges: Julie Carleton of West Bath, Charles Gilbertson, of Bath; Courtney Jicks of Augusta, Jamie Plummer of Richmond and Stephanie Whittingham of Harpswell.

Award recipients who were unable to attend the Augusta ceremony:

BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation Scholarship: Kimberly Garcia of Norridgewock.

Distinguished English Major Award: Michaela Batstone of Lovell.

Distinguished Mental Health and Human Services Student Award: Felicia Lucas of Winthrop.

Richard J. Goggin Memorial Scholarship: Paula St. Hilaire of Waterville.

Gerald Goold Memorial Scholarship: Sean Putnam-Labbe of Gardiner.

Honors Program Completion: Margaret Collamore-Campbell of Waldoboro.

Leadership and Service Scholarship: Tiffany Doyle of Chelsea.

Outstanding Female Athlete: Angelica Bulgin of Lisbon.

Richard J. and Mary Elisabeth Randall Scholarship Fund: Kimberly Merriam of Harpswell, and Kenneth Walden of Bath.

Student Government Association: Officer Amanda Seekins, of Augusta, executive secretary; and Student Body Representative Matthew Raymond, of Augusta.

Kenneth Craig Ward Scholarship: Travis Rowe of Searsport.

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges (bachelor’s): David Brown of Topsham.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: