Cony’s Tayler Carrier and Oak Hill’s Kyle Flaherty were named two of the 13 semifinalists for the Fitzpatrick Trophy Saturday.

Also nominated were Kevin Barrett (Thornton Academy), Peter Boyers (Foxcroft Academy), Chris Carney (Wells), Zach Davis (Windham), Joseph Fitzpatrick (Cheverus), Tyler Frost (Dirigo), Brett Gerry (Marshwood), Milani Hicks (Scarborough), Maurice Johnson (Westbrook), Ryan Ruhlin (Portland) and Matthew Stewart (Bucksport).

A four-year starter, Carrier starred at wide receiver and linebacker for the Rams this season. He had 70 receptions for 905 yards, recorded 81 tackles and also returned punts and kicks.

A key cog in the Rams’ 2013 Class B championship, Carrier also plays catcher on the Cony baseball team.

Flaherty, meanwhile, starred in helping lead the Raiders to back-to-back Class D championships in each of the past two seasons. He rushed for 1,049 yards and 13 touchdowns, starred as a linebacker and also served as the team’s punter this fall.

Cony quarterback Ben Lucas won the award in 2013.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.