ORONO — Forty-seven members of University of Maine community, including 41 undergraduate and graduate students, were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and largest collegiate honor society, during the chapter’s recent annual meeting on campus.

Faculty and alumni inductees were Jeffrey Hecker, executive vice president for academic affairs and provost, who was keynote speaker at the event; Shaleen Jain, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; Kyriacos Markides, professor of sociology; Gail Werrbach, director and associate professor of social work; Lucille Zeph, associate professor of education; and alumna Sarah Smiley, who has a master of arts in communication from UMaine, according to a UMaine news release.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at UMaine by 10 seniors led by Marcus L. Urann in an effort to start an honorary society that recognizes outstanding students, faculty and staff from all disciplines.

In 1900, the University of Tennessee and Pennsylvania State University joined the society originally named Lambda Sigma Eta Society, making it a national society. Phi Kappa Phi has since grown to an international society with more than one million members from more than 300 campuses across the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

2015 Phi Kappa Phi-Chapter 1 student inductees:

Marissa Bovie, of Vassalboro; Benjamin Whiting Bucklin, of Searsport; Jie Cao, of Shanghai, China; Kyle Castagnetto, of Winslow; Jesse T. Clark, of Calais; Annie Collins, of Caribou; Sean Christopher Cox, of Bar Harbor; Katie A. Delcourt, of Old Town; Nathan Francis Dunn, of Berwick; Kelly A. Edwards, of Pownal; Julianna Ennamorati, of Waldoboro; Jennifer Federico, of Glenburn; Derek Michael Frey, of Kenduskeag; Wendy Gibbs, of Brooks; Andrew Goode, of Boothbay; Adam Gudroe, of Garland; Cameron Guild, of Manchester; Nicolette D. Hashey, of Hermon; Kathleen R. Hill, of Ellsworth; Eliza Capen Jones, of Newcastle; Michael Joseph Kennedy, of Biddeford; Katrina R. Lapham, of Belfast; Anne M. Lausier of Bangor; Richard H. Luc, of Bangor; Abigail Adams MacDonald, of Yarmouth; Joan Marie McCue, of Old Town; Molly Moreshead, of Holden; Samantha O’Shea, of Kennebunkport; Ray G. Peck, of Brewer; Samantha L. Pelletier, of Saint David; Elizabeth G. Proctor, of Newbury, Mass.; Tyler Quiring, of Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada; Anna Richard, of Wareham, Mass.; Allison E. Scully, of Waterville; Megan W. Smith, of Bucksport; Bronte Mercedes Sone, of Orono; Jamie Lynn St. Pierre, of Wilton; Leanne R. Violette, of Bangor; Sadie Wight, of Bucksport; Eric Wold, of Freeport; and Yunhui Wu, of Beidou Community, Heilongjiang, China.

For more information, visit umaine.edu.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.