THORNDIKE — Every year, between Thanksgiving and Christmas, the Mount View Chamber Singers, a group of 20 students from Mount View High School, perform a series of concerts at various churches throughout the state of Maine, and even one in Canada.

These performances are done by candlelight with the singers spread out, surrounding the audience. The format is slightly nontraditional from most concerts, but as evidenced by the group’s busy schedule (29 concerts in 23 days), it has become a tradition for many during the Christmas season, according to a news release from the group.

This concert tour is what the group calls “Carols in the Round,” and this year is one of great significance. The upcoming 2015 season marks the 25th anniversary of this tradition.

During this time, students pretty much give up their lives to share music with others. Students are out every night of the week, and they do four concerts each weekend, all while keeping up with their studies and other responsibilities. This discipline and hard work provide them with many wonderful opportunities. The group has had the chance to go on several concert tours in places such as Italy, Costa Rica, Ireland, Hungary and El Salvador, to name a few, according to the release. These trips were funded solely by donations received from the public at performances. The group also has been given the opportunity to record five albums. The group is truly grateful to all its supporters over the past 25 years.

Mount View Chamber Singers “Carols in the Round” 2015 ~ 25th anniversary edition

• Saturday, Nov. 28, 7 p.m., Riverside Congregational Church, Vassalboro

• Sunday, Nov. 29, 4 p.m., Winslow Congregational Church, Lithgow Street; and 7: p.m., First Baptist Church, Waterville

• Monday, Nov. 30, 7 p.m., Guilford United Methodist Church

• Tuesday, Dec. 1, 7 p.m., Searsport Congregational Church

• Wednesday, Dec. 2, 7 p.m., St. Denis Catholic Church, Whitefield

• Thursday, Dec. 3, 7 p.m., Peoples United Methodist Church, Union

• Friday, Dec. 4, 7 p.m., United Methodist Church, Route 32, Vassalboro

• Saturday, Dec. 5, 4 p.m., Hampden Highlands United Methodist Church; and 7 p.m., Faith Temple Church, Belfast

• Sunday, Dec. 6, 4 p.m., St. Mary’s Catholic Church, Bangor; and 7 p.m., Stillwater Federated Church, Bennoch Road

• Monday, Dec. 7, 7 p.m., Chestnut Street Baptist Church, Camden

• Tuesday, Dec. 8, 7 p.m., Crossroads to Calvary, Morrill

• Wednesday, Dec. 9, 7 p.m., Sacred Heart Church, Hallowell

• Thursday, Dec. 10, 7 p.m., First Church, Belfast

• Friday, Dec. 11, 7 p.m., St. Anne’s Episcopal Church, Calais

• Saturday, Dec. 12, 3 p.m. (Atlantic), All Saints Church Saint Andrews, New Brunswick; and 7 p.m., Franklin St. United Methodist Church, Bucksport

• Sunday, Dec. 13, 4 p.m., Hammond Street Congregational Church, Bangor; and 7 p.m., Kennebec Valley Baptist Church, Waterville

• Monday, Dec. 14, 7 p.m., Stockton Community Church

• Tuesday, Dec. 15, 7 p.m., Church of Universal Fellowship, Orono

• Wednesday, Dec. 16, 7 p.m., Winthrop United Methodist Church

• Friday, Dec. 18, 7 p.m., Freedom Congregational Church

• Saturday, Dec. 19, 4 p.m., John Street United Methodist Church, Camden; and 7 p.m., United Methodist Church, Belfast

• Sunday, Dec. 20, 4 p.m., Lincolnville United Christian Church, Route 173, Lincolnville Center; and 7 p.m., St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church, Belfast

For more information, email [email protected] or call 568-4620.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

Kennebec Journal & Morning Sentinel news

Get news and events from your towns in your inbox every Friday.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.