The North and South split the four games at the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Basketball Games at Bangor’s Husson University on Saturday.

Shannon Todd, of York, scored 18 points and Maddie Hasson, of South Portland, chipped in with 15 points to lead the South to an 86-69 win in the day’s first contest, the Class AA/A/B girls game. Tianna Sugars, of Oxford Hills, led the North with 16 points.

The North gained its revenge in the boys AA/A/B game, winning 97-91 behind 19 points apiece from Portland’s Amir Moss and Foxcroft Academy’s Hunter Smith. Shy Ulrickson, of Mt. Ararat, led the South with 20 points.

The C/D South boys exploded for the day’s highest score to cruise to a 113-79 win over the North. Clay Swett, of Dirigo, led the South with 18 points, followed by Winthrop’s Anthony Owens with 15. Ryan Chasse, of Fort Kent, led the North with 13 points.

The C/D North girls bounced back with a win in the closest game of the day, 65-63. Samantha Ireland, of Penobscot Valley, was high scorer for the North with 24 points. Rangeley’s Blayke Morin led the South with 17 points, while Linda Riley, of Forest Hills, chipped in with 11 points.

Net proceeds from the event benefit Ronald McDonald House Charities of Maine. Last year’s games raised more than $32,000.

• • •

In addition to the all-star games, the event also includes a trio of skills competitions. Eli Fish, of Gardiner, won the state foul shooting championship by sinking 48 of 50 free throws to edge Donovan Savage, of Caribou, who made 47 of 50. Isabel Porter, of Greely, also made 48 of 50 to win the girls championship, edging Emily Lagerstrom, of Presque Isle, with 47.

Finalists from four regions emerged from competitions organized by the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches (MABC) to determine the state champion.

Julia Quinn, of Fryeburg Academy, won the 3-point shooting competition, while Andrew Fleming, of Oxford Hills, won the slam dunk title.

• • •

The MABC announced its coaches of the year in each class at Friday night’s all-star banquet and several central Maine coaches were honored. Among girls coaches, Keith Derosby, of Messalonskee (Class A North), Lindsey Welch, of Winslow (Class B North), and Heidi Deery, of Rangeley (Class D South), were honored. On the boys’ side, Rob Schmidt, of Maranacook (Class B South), Jason Furbush, of Madison (Class C South), and Luke Hartwell, of Valley (Class D South), received the award.

Randy Whitehouse — 621-5638

[email protected]

Twitter: @RAWmaterial33

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.